Author Topic: Like putting on an old glove  (Read 563 times)

Offline Smokey

• Knucklehead
    • View Profile
Like putting on an old glove
« on: April 10, 2016, 08:03:57 PM »
Some of you blokes might know that I'm a trade qualified master locksmith,,,  But haven't worked in the trade for just over ten years.
Now just for personal shits and giggles, Last week I decided to test myself at how good I am at picking a lock.
I was always very good with a snap gun and average with manual picks.
So I brought out dozens of locks I have lying around the garage and set to work.
I could still snap gun many of them but fucking useless now with the manual picks. 
I spent an hour, or more every day for a week not getting anywhere.  Until today,  Something just clicked.  The feel just came back.  Now I'm getting these brand new locks open in just minutes.
Here is the kicker,  I had to revert to youtube to relearn how to fucking do it  ::w

Offline Rybags

• Sergeant at Arms
  • Dudeworld
    • View Profile
Re: Like putting on an old glove
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2016, 08:58:32 PM »
PMSL.

When I was about 12yo I got into lock picking.  Made a bunch of picks, some from old keys, some from strips of metal.  The thing is though they weren't much like the ones even back then that were in professional use (for starters I had next to no hope of making any of the thin wirey types).

But I was able to pick plenty of locks.  Amazing how pathetic most of the cheap-arsed ones they used on garages, sheds, cheap padlocks and the like were.

It was one of those passing fad things though, didn't persist with it.  Though I've had like most people those few times in adult life where the skill would have come in real handy.  Locked out of cars a few times though in every case the pull the button with wire or tape method worked fine.  Locked out of house multiple times and one where it was impossible to get in, my oldies phoned up a cousin of mine who was a locksmith at the time.