Author Topic: I think I just rooted the shed  (Read 1559 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Smokey

  • Knucklehead
  • *
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
I think I just rooted the shed
« on: March 18, 2015, 07:40:21 PM »
Started a Knife thing and added some pics then got a white out.  Changed PC,s and its seems to have stuck.  Im assuming the very embarrising position ;qo

Offline Hardman

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 11884
  • Single Malt Effect
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2015, 08:10:14 PM »
:)

I just saw it :)

I really am not sure what happened there, um, Richo... ? Looks like a code bork ? :)

Normal service shall be resumed as soon as the fuck-up ape is removed from the building :)

Probably just a case of the jelly fell off the nail (ask me later) I am VERY averse to getting under the hood here, this is Richo's hotrod :)

Cheers

Politically incorrect?  You betcha!!!  :-)




Offline Richo

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 2956
  • Fast, Cheap, Light...pick any two
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2015, 09:11:07 PM »
nope nothing here... didn't do a thing. ?? wtf ?



Anything goes here, you know that.
Work Hard, Play Hard, Stay Hard

 

 
Meet my little Baby

Offline Richo

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 2956
  • Fast, Cheap, Light...pick any two
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2015, 09:21:40 PM »
Try again mate, can't see the original anywhere.
Work Hard, Play Hard, Stay Hard

 

 
Meet my little Baby

Offline Hardman

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 11884
  • Single Malt Effect
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2015, 01:05:11 AM »
It is still there, go to The Shed, top topic I see is Makin Knives by Smokey - click it get a white screen ?

Cheers
Politically incorrect?  You betcha!!!  :-)




Offline Wallacey

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 887
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2015, 09:11:15 AM »
I get the white screen too. The other day, I tried to attach the VW pic and it didn't post.  Yet when I tried again it told me it was already posted. I ended up using photobucket.
Perhaps there is a problem with posting attachments.
Whatever

Offline Hardman

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 11884
  • Single Malt Effect
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2015, 10:23:46 AM »
Thanks Wallacey, that makes sense, will wait for Richo to see this and look into it.

Cheers
Politically incorrect?  You betcha!!!  :-)




Offline Smokey

  • Knucklehead
  • *
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2015, 12:00:46 PM »
Yep, It choked when I added attachments.
Made a new one using photo bucket  :D

Offline Hardman

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 11884
  • Single Malt Effect
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2015, 02:30:15 PM »
:)

Not the way we need to do attachments here usually though.

I sort of suspect something may have broken when Richo was doing the maintenance, will wait to see what he finds (and fixes :) )

Cheers
Politically incorrect?  You betcha!!!  :-)




Offline Richo

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 2956
  • Fast, Cheap, Light...pick any two
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2015, 07:40:50 PM »
What was the attachment file type ?
Work Hard, Play Hard, Stay Hard

 

 
Meet my little Baby

Offline Wallacey

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 887
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #10 on: March 19, 2015, 07:42:37 PM »
Mine was a jpeg from my Galaxy S5.
Whatever

Offline Richo

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 2956
  • Fast, Cheap, Light...pick any two
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2015, 08:54:15 PM »
can you try it again here pls ?
Work Hard, Play Hard, Stay Hard

 

 
Meet my little Baby

Offline Hardman

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 11884
  • Single Malt Effect
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #12 on: March 19, 2015, 09:02:42 PM »
 :)

Something gratuitous ? seems to work again - Those are Facebook servers :)


Politically incorrect?  You betcha!!!  :-)




Offline Wallacey

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 887
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2015, 09:08:13 AM »
I just tried to attach a jpep and it wouldn't post.
Whatever

Offline Hardman

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 11884
  • Single Malt Effect
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2015, 09:18:17 AM »
Hmm, let's see again.

Edit: seems ok, but I very rarely post pics so not sure if it is the same as before
Politically incorrect?  You betcha!!!  :-)




Offline Wallacey

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 887
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2015, 04:37:34 PM »
Welding.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2015, 04:41:28 PM by Wallacey »
Whatever

Offline Wallacey

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 887
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #16 on: March 20, 2015, 04:55:15 PM »
And the next post with 3  ~1.5 MB jpegs didn't post, after about 30 secs it just went to a white screen.
Whatever

Offline Smokey

  • Knucklehead
  • *
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #17 on: March 20, 2015, 05:32:35 PM »
I just tried and could not grab a pic. maybe I need to resize them. Will fuck around with it when I get a chance. It's worked before. it almost feels like it's my slow speed and possibly an apple problem.

Offline Hardman

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 11884
  • Single Malt Effect
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #18 on: March 20, 2015, 05:37:14 PM »
Nah,

I think Wallacey just hit it, there is a default attachment size, memory says Jamie had ramped it up. Richo did a clean up recently and removed a lot of stuff that was no longer needed, it's easy to change a setting or two doing that.

Over to you Richo :)

That said it's good practice to down-sample bigger images, high res is a bit superfluous on-screen.

Cheers
Politically incorrect?  You betcha!!!  :-)




Offline Wallacey

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 887
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #19 on: March 20, 2015, 06:31:38 PM »
Nah,

I think Wallacey just hit it, there is a default attachment size, memory says Jamie had ramped it up. Richo did a clean up recently and removed a lot of stuff that was no longer needed, it's easy to change a setting or two doing that.

Over to you Richo :)

That said it's good practice to down-sample bigger images, high res is a bit superfluous on-screen.

Cheers


Higher res means you can zoom in more and see more clearly.

A lot of forums ask you to host your pics offsite...

Like you say Chris, it could be as simple as limiting jpeg pixel size.   :-*



Whatever

Offline Richo

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 2956
  • Fast, Cheap, Light...pick any two
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #20 on: March 20, 2015, 06:47:53 PM »
Hang on a sec...


Try it now !!
Work Hard, Play Hard, Stay Hard

 

 
Meet my little Baby

Offline Hardman

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 11884
  • Single Malt Effect
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #21 on: March 20, 2015, 06:55:57 PM »
:)

I don't really recall an image on here that needed zooming on mate :)

It really depends on where the forum is hosted or what deal the owner has struck. Hosting comes down to cost-of-storage, which is through the floor, Google now offer a Dropbox type service at 1c per GB near-line and it hasn't finished dropping. Richo cut a sweet deal with HostGator, we don't really have any concerns over the site accepting attachments :)

If you think about, in the end somebody, somewhere pays for the drive images are on, Imageshack, Photobucket, whatever, but they can do it because drives are so cheap and they get good advertising revenue plus quite a healthy take-up on their pro plans :)

Cheers

Edit: Those look good to me Richo, and zoomable :)
« Last Edit: March 20, 2015, 06:57:39 PM by Hardman »
Politically incorrect?  You betcha!!!  :-)




Offline Richo

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 2956
  • Fast, Cheap, Light...pick any two
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #22 on: March 22, 2015, 10:11:47 PM »
There's an

MP4
MP3
PNG
JPG
ZIP
JPEG

all working fine.


Not sure what the glitch was other than maybe you were uploading during a backup cycle serverside ?

How does it work now? Are you still experiencing hassle ?
Work Hard, Play Hard, Stay Hard

 

 
Meet my little Baby

Offline Wallacey

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 887
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #23 on: March 23, 2015, 02:10:26 PM »
Billy
Whatever

Offline Wallacey

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 887
    • View Profile
Re: I think I just rooted the shed
« Reply #24 on: March 23, 2015, 02:12:09 PM »
Seems ok now,  sorry about the size.
Whatever