Author Topic: wanted ddr2 ram  (Read 2347 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LordDread

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 4066
  • Eat da-shiang bao-tza shr duh lah doo-tze,dong ma?
    • View Profile
wanted ddr2 ram
« on: December 22, 2010, 01:14:33 PM »
wondering if anyone has some ddr2 6400 (800mhz) laying around that want to part with either 2x512 or 2x1gb

with games and prgramme updates im finding 1gb is pushing the limits and i want to keep this pc going for a while longer, so make me an offer if you got some spare.

Offline McClean

  • The token American
  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 6272
  • Ain't I pretty? ;)
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2010, 02:09:06 PM »
:)

I'm not sure on the speed, but I have two sticks of 512 ddr2 in my old desktop, which has a dead mobo.

In the unlikely event that I decide to spend the money to replace the mobo, I wouldn't be going with ddr2 anyway and so it's pretty much useless to me.

Where everything out here ain't what it seems
When I'm down to nothing, I just go ahead and dream
And face the fact that I'm a circle in a world full of squares

Offline LordDread

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 4066
  • Eat da-shiang bao-tza shr duh lah doo-tze,dong ma?
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2010, 10:14:50 PM »
if noone local has anything i might see what we can do ,urs is prolly 800, or faster.. hopefully anyways :p

Offline McClean

  • The token American
  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 6272
  • Ain't I pretty? ;)
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2010, 12:21:13 AM »
:)

Sorry, I just took a little trip down the virtual memory lane and my old Amazon orders. What I have is DDR not DDR2.

I know it's not what you're looking for, but I'll post up the link anyway. I paid $60 for this in 2006 and that was a good deal.  ;zn

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00006HVT4/ref=oss_product
Where everything out here ain't what it seems
When I'm down to nothing, I just go ahead and dream
And face the fact that I'm a circle in a world full of squares

Offline LordDread

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 4066
  • Eat da-shiang bao-tza shr duh lah doo-tze,dong ma?
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2010, 06:42:08 AM »
ahh coolies, might be a bit difficult making it fit.. i mean i do have a hammer,but you know... dunno if it will work when im dun :P



So.. noone else has any ddr2 ram they wish to dispose of ???

Offline Hardman

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 11882
  • Single Malt Effect
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2010, 08:55:45 AM »
 :)

Let me get out of festive mode and I'll take a look, being spread between two houses makes finding things a bit hit and miss but I think either David or I might have a stick or two around. Being my computing is now all portable I've no use for it so it's yours if I can find it  :)

Cheers
Politically incorrect?  You betcha!!!  :-)




Offline LordDread

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 4066
  • Eat da-shiang bao-tza shr duh lah doo-tze,dong ma?
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2010, 01:07:57 PM »
sweet as Hm, i could get sum new but problem being most places now only have either 1x1gb stick or 2x2gb sticks in 800, and being im already running duel channel, i wanna be able to run the second duel as well.. and 800 is as fast it will utilise :p

Caelum

  • Guest
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #7 on: December 26, 2010, 06:24:45 PM »
Are your current sticks 800?

If they aren't, when you add 800MHz rated sticks, they'll run at the same speed as the slowest specced ram you have installed.

Offline LordDread

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 4066
  • Eat da-shiang bao-tza shr duh lah doo-tze,dong ma?
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #8 on: December 26, 2010, 10:34:48 PM »
yeah they are 800, thats why i was after 800's if possible, this was a hell of a machine in its day, its old eniough to still carrry the pci-e v1.1 bus :p which yesy kinda makes the 5770 gfx init overkill to the max :p

Caelum

  • Guest
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #9 on: December 26, 2010, 11:15:23 PM »
How desperate are you for this stuff mate?


If you can wait a month or two, i'll be heading to tassie to see family for a week or so... and have a pair of 800MHz Crucial 1GB sticks there....


Word of warning though, they NEED 2.2v to run, fail memtest otherwise..

Offline Hardman

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 11882
  • Single Malt Effect
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #10 on: December 27, 2010, 02:32:25 AM »
 :)

You can clock Corsair anywhere that suits, and i ain't bought anything but in ages, will look in the am :)

Cheers
Politically incorrect?  You betcha!!!  :-)




Offline LordDread

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 4066
  • Eat da-shiang bao-tza shr duh lah doo-tze,dong ma?
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2010, 09:17:20 AM »
yeah spose that would depend on how well the geil i have will take to 2.2v, they been run at 1.8v (stock) for 6 years now :p ... and to be honest, i cant even remember if i can change the voltage :p

If Hm cant find any soon i might just go all out and buy a 4gb kit.. its olny like $100, think ill have to remove this 1gb i have but cause form memory 4gb was this things max :P

Caelum

  • Guest
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #12 on: December 27, 2010, 11:53:24 AM »
You'd be better off using a 64bit operating system too, or you'll only see about 3.2GB of it, if you go with 4...

Offline Hardman

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 11882
  • Single Malt Effect
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #13 on: December 27, 2010, 03:17:00 PM »
 :)

True,

I have some sticks here, and funnily enough a box I can test them in, will look mate, just vegging today though - kids..... last year I'm doing the whole Christmas thing for them, I'm knackered :)

If you do buy, hang off a few days, place is closed  for the holiday but can get you trade and local pick-up :)

Cheers

Politically incorrect?  You betcha!!!  :-)




Offline LordDread

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 4066
  • Eat da-shiang bao-tza shr duh lah doo-tze,dong ma?
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #14 on: December 27, 2010, 11:09:03 PM »
yeah Cal, im runing win7 pro 64 .. been running 64 since win7 rc :p

yeah hm will wait for a bit to give ya time to check out what u got 2nd hand, this beast can only take 4gb max anyways.. mind u back when i built it noone had 4gb and it woulda cost you like round $600 for that much (good) ram :p

Offline Hardman

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 11882
  • Single Malt Effect
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #15 on: January 19, 2011, 08:15:15 PM »
Sorry mate, Middy and I have looked high and low, have DDrR you know middy, he even still has SD, and some SODIMM, but no DDR2 :(

Cheers

Politically incorrect?  You betcha!!!  :-)




Offline LordDread

  • Sergeant at Arms
  • *
  • Posts: 4066
  • Eat da-shiang bao-tza shr duh lah doo-tze,dong ma?
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #16 on: January 19, 2011, 08:23:52 PM »
all good, i got old ram too, hells i got some ecc edo sitten round :P

Offline Hardman

  • Big Kahuna
  • *
  • Posts: 11882
  • Single Malt Effect
    • View Profile
Re: wanted ddr2 ram
« Reply #17 on: January 19, 2011, 09:15:10 PM »
 :)

Sorry.

Moving soon, something might turn up but neither of us can think where else to look.

Cheers
Politically incorrect?  You betcha!!!  :-)